ACBSP Awards Accreditation to DMACC and 28 other institutions

Baltimore, Maryland - June 17, 2012 - The Accreditation Council for Business Schools and Programs (ACBSP) announced today 29 of the association's member institutions were awarded accreditation for their business school or programs at the 2012 ACBSP Annual Conference in Baltimore, June 17. This represents the 22nd annual presentation to institutions that have achieved accreditation since ACBSP was founded 24 years ago.

Douglas G. Viehland, executive director of ACBSP, spoke of the accomplishment of the member institutions: "These institutions have shown their commitment to teaching excellence by their participation in the accreditation process and their achievement of accreditation. ACBSP is proud to assist these schools and programs in their commitment to quality business programs. We recognize their educational practices that contribute to the continuous improvement of business education."

For institutions that achieve accreditation for their business schools and programs, this attainment certifies that the teaching and learning processes within that institution meet the rigorous educational standards established by ACBSP. The ratification of accreditation by ACBSP covers a 10-year period at which time an institution must reaffirm its quality by preparing a self-study and having another site visit. During the accreditation period, business programs are required to maintain the high quality standards of ACBSP.

Drew Gocken and Susan Mitchel accept the Accreditation award from the ACBSP DMACC was accredited this year as an Associate Degree granting institution.

Drew Gocken, DMACC Dean, and Susan Mitchell, Program Chair of the Business Administration Program, accepted the Accreditation award from the ACBSP.

For more information, go to