Sixteen DMACC Students are Named to the 2021 All-Iowa Academic Team

Posted 4/19/2021

Three DMACC Students were Named to the Coca-Cola Academic Team

  • Michaela Coffman of Jefferson was named a Gold Coca-Cola Academic Team Scholar.

  • Erin Hart of Ames was named a Silver Coca-Cola Academic Team Scholar.

  • Sara Dudley of Colfax was named a Bronze Coca-Cola Academic Team Scholar.​

Sixteen of the 85 Iowa Community College students named to the 2021 All-Iowa Academic Team attend DMACC campuses. The 16 were honored in a special virtual ceremony on Thursday, April 15.

The DMACC students named to the 2021 All-Iowa Academic Team include:

  • Samantha Bolles, Liberal Arts, St. Charles

  • Natalie Chandler, Human Services, Newton

  • Michaela Coffman, Liberal Arts, Jefferson

  • Thomas Cox, Liberal Arts, Newton

  • Sara Dudley, Agri-Business, Colfax

  • Kyle Hanson, Liberal Arts, Ames

  • Erin Hart, Associate Degree Nursing, Ames

  • Noah Johnson, Graphic Design, Des Moines

  • Isabella McDonald, Liberal Arts, Des Moines

  • Kara Monticue, Pre-Nursing, Van Meter

  • Moska Ommaid, Associate Degree Nursing, Ames

  • David Prochaska, Liberal Arts, Urbandale

  • Emma Sarver, Liberal Arts, McCallsburg

  • Jesus Soto Gonzalez, Diesel Technology, Jewell

  • Ronni Steuben, Associate Degree Nursing, Clive

  • T. Lane Williams, Paralegal, Des Moines

DMACC Boone Campus Physics and Mathematics Professor and Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) Advisor Dr. Nancy Woods said there are several benefits associated with being named to the 2021 All-Iowa Academic Team:

  • Next fall, if a member transfers to the University of Northern Iowa, Iowa State University or the University of Iowa, they will earn a $2,000/year (for two years) transfer scholarship

  • Will receive an official certificate of recognition

  • Will receive an official 2021 All-Iowa Academic Team medallion that can be worn at DMACC Commencement ceremonies

  • Are being evaluated by Phi Theta Kappa international officials to determine if any will receive more amazing scholarships through PTK

Three of the recent DMACC All-Iowa Academic Team members have been named to the prestigious Coca-Cola Academic Team. The Coca-Cola Academic Team recognizes high achieving college students who demonstrate academic excellence and intellectual rigor combined with leadership and service that extends their education beyond the classroom to benefit society.

Only 50 students nationwide will be named Gold Scholars, 50 students will be named Silver Scholars and 50 students will be named Bronze Scholars. A state may have multiple Gold, Silver, or Bronze Scholars.

To be eligible for this program, students must submit an application for the All-USA Academic Team and be selected as a nominee by their college. Nominees must be enrolled at a community college through December the year in which the scholarship is awarded, with a minimum of six semester credit hours or nine quarter credit hours. A 3.5 GPA is required and students must be on track to receive an associate's or bachelor's degree.

Michaela Coffman of Jefferson was named to the Gold Coca-Cola Academic Team.  She will receive an additional $1,500 scholarship for being named a Gold recipient. Coffman is graduating with a Liberal Arts degree from the DMACC Carroll Campus and plans to attend Iowa State University in the fall.

Erin Hart of Ames was named to the Silver Coca-Cola Academic Team. She will receive an additional $1,250 scholarship for being named to the Silver Team. Hart is an Associate of Degree Nursing student graduating from the DMACC Boone Campus.

Sara Dudley of Colfax was named to the Bronze Coca-Cola Academic Team. She will receive an additional $1,000 scholarship for being named a Bronze recipient. Dudley is graduating from the DMACC Ankeny Campus with a degree in Agri-Business. She plans to attend Iowa State University in the fall.

With Coffman and Dudley planning to attend Iowa State University, being named a Coca-Cola Academic Scholar would provide them each with the value of in-state tuition renewable for up to two years. According to the ISU website, the current value of resident tuition is set at $8,042 for the 2020-21 academic year.​

Return to News