DMACC West Campus Provost Named Chair of 2020 International Space Development Conference

Posted 7/1/2019

​Dr. Anthony Paustian, Provost of the Des Moines Area Community College (DMACC) West Campus and founder of Celebrate! Innovation Live (ciLive!) at DMACC, was recently named Chair of the 2020 International Space Development Conference (ISDC).

ISDC is the annual conference of the National Space Society, bringing together leading managers, engineers, scientists, educators and business professionals from civilian, military, commercial, entrepreneurial and grassroots advocacy space sectors.

“The annual International Space Development Conference is incredibly inspiring, celebrating space exploration, development and most of all, possibility,” said Paustian, who was named chair of the 2020 ISDC event during this year’s conference, which was held June 6-9 in Washington, D.C.

“I’m honored to be chosen for this role, and I look forward to representing both DMACC and the more than 30,000 members of the National Space Society.”

The 2020 ISDC event will take place May 28-31 of next year in Dallas, Texas.

Many current leaders of NASA, entrepreneurial space companies and the astronaut corps are longtime members of the National Space Society. The 2019 ISDC event drew more than 2,000 attendees, including Jim Bridenstine, current NASA Administrator; Scott Pace, Executive Secretary of the National Space Council; and Tory Bruno, CEO of United Launch Alliance, among other key players in space travel and exploration.

Paustian, who also writes a column for Ad Astra, the quarterly magazine of the National Space Society, has served as Provost of the DMACC West Campus since it opened in 2001. The state-of-the-art, technology-driven campus is home to the annual Celebrate! Innovation Live (ciLive!) at DMACC, which marked its 10th Anniversary in March 2019.

Each year, ciLive! brings some of the brightest minds and creative thinkers to Central Iowa, giving DMACC students and community members a chance to hear from and interact with thought-leaders – some famous, all inspired – who have dreamed, created and accomplished.

The theme of ciLive! 10 was “Small Steps To Giant Leaps” in conjunction with the 50th anniversary of the first moon landing. Speakers included an Apollo 50th Anniversary panel featuring Walt Cunningham, Apollo 7 astronaut; Fred Haise, Apollo 13 astronaut; Al Worden, Apollo 15 astronaut; Gerry Griffin, Apollo flight director and former director of the Johnson Space Center; and Rod Pyle, author and panel moderator.

For more information, visit, or contact Dr. Anthony Paustian (515) 633-2439

Return to News