Notable Alumni

​​​​Congratulations to our 2023 Alumni Award Recipients!

This year's class of award recipients have gone above and beyond - in their professions, in their communities, and in support of others. They epitomize all that is great about this institution, and we are proud to count them among our esteemed alumni.

Honorees will be recognized at a dinner and ceremony to be held on October 17, 2023.


​Outstanding Alumni Award

The Outstanding Alumni Award is the highest honor given to DMACC alumni by the Alumni Association. This award honors and recognizes alumni who provide service to their community, country, and/or fellow citizen; have had great professional or personal achievement since graduation; and/or continue to be involved in the life and work of DMACC.​

  • David J. Abram
    Commercial Lender, Dupaco
    Carlisle, IA 
    (AS Liberal Arts 1994)
  • Petra Amstad
    Senior Manager Brand Strategy, Clariant International Ltd.
    Biel-Benken, Switzerland
    (AAS Commercial Art 1996)
  • Greg Piklapp
    Director, Economic Development and Outreach, Ames Chamber of Commerce
    Boone, IA
    (AA Liberal Arts 2001)
  • Kevin Schneider
    Sheriff, Polk County Sheriff's Office
    Urbandale, IA
    (AA Criminal Justice 1990)

Alumni Early Achievement Award

The DMACC Alumni Association created the Alumni Early Achievement Award in 2011 to recognize alumni who havegraduated from DMACC within the last ten years and have displayed exemplary personal or professional achievement or volunteer service to their community. Nominees shall not be currently enrolled in an institution of higher learning.

  • Mackenzie Carlson
    Internal Med. Hospital/Urgent Care Provider, Humbolt Co. Memorial Hospital
    Humbolt, IA
    (Diploma Practical Nursing 2011; AAS Nursing 2016)
  • Anil Mallik
    Senior Account Associate, Met Life
    West Des Moines, IA
    (AAS Accounting 2021; Diploma in Accounting and Bookkeeping 2021; Certificates of Specialization in Accounting, Accounting for Entrepreneurs and Payroll 2020)

  • Belange Mu​tunda
    Owner and Designer, Belange Handmade LLC
    Los Angeles, CA
    (AAS Fashion 2018)

Impact Award

The DMACC Alumni Association created the DMACC Impact Award in 2011 to recognize DMACC alumni attendees of at least 12 credit hours who make an impact within their community, profession and/or DMACC.

  • Ako Abdul-Samad
    Iowa State Representative, 34th District
    Des Moines, IA
    (Attended from 1973 to 1996)


The DMACC Alumni Association is currently seeking nominations for the Outstanding Alumni Award, DMACC Alumni Early Achievement Award and the DMACC Impact Award. For more information and to learn of the criteria for each award, click on the award name above. The deadline to submit nominations for all three awards is April 15, 2024.


View Past Alumni Award Recipients